All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

It is not uncommon among multinational companies to completely disregard their employees' opinions. Whereas on the other hand, they spend huge resources to bring in new consultants to get new opinions.The prompt suggests that instead of hiring such consultants, companies should pay more heed to their employees. While there is a certain validity to this statement, but in my opinion , I mostly disagree with this statement for the following two reasons.

To begin, consultants from outside the company can bring in new and fresh perspective with them. Their opinions will not be biased by the environment and values of the company. They can impartially judge a company's state and give unbiased opinions. Often employees who have stayed in a company for one or more year gets compliant with the rules, regulations and terms of the company which results in their opinions being biased. For example, if a CEO of a company in a survey asks for a review of his performance and his leadership skills from his own employees , the opinions and the results of the survey may be biased. Obsequious employees always like to 'sweet-talk' their boss, while other employees who want to speak up might get relunctant seeing the flattery of the obsequious employees. Thus, no effective criticism comes from the survey. On the other hand, if the CEO brings a consultant to judge his performance and skills, the consultant will be able to gove unbiased opinions and fresh suggestions. This example demonstartes that opinions from a companies employees get easily molded by the general view of the company. On the contrary, a consultant from the outside is not affected by the values of a company. He can see any situation as it is and think of any solutions without being amenable to the company's traditions.Fresh perspective is always good for any company.

Moreover, a company's employees does not always have all the expertise necessary to run a company smoothly. There are tasks that are short term and may not require a permanent employee. In such cases, bringing in consultants can be helpful. For instance, a finance company might not need to bring in an accountant specialist as a consultant, because more or less, all of the employees have accounting experience, but if legal expertise is needed for any short term task of the company, lack of legal expertise makes it necessary for the company to bring a legal consultant. Since, the legal tasks for the company are short term , hiring a lawyer full time would be costlier than bringing in a consultant. So, only depending on employees and being relunctant to hire outside consultants is not always suitable for a company. However, in companies where all the tasks are being smoothly run by employess, and employyes have all the necssary skills. In such cases, bringing in a new consultant ignoring the employees opinions is completely unecessary. It not only discourages the employee but also questions the loyalty of the employee. So, all companies should look inside their company before looking for help outside.

In conclusion, while in some cases it is seen that a company completely disregards its employees while looking for helps outside. But cases where the expertise is not present among the employees and the opinions of the employees are giving biased results, it becomes imperative for a company to bring in new consultants for fresh opinions.