All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The problem statement posits that companies should consult their own employees more for solving efficiency related problems rather than seeking help from an outside professional. Doing the former would obviate the latter. I stand to disagree with this position. While, it is not wrong that the company should consult with its own team before, it is also worthless to seek help of an outsider. There may be a difference of perspective, which may turn things around.

For example, say the company is making efforts to enter into a different market and needs insight on how to achieve this goal. It might be possible here that the existing employees may not have sufficient experience to develop a working methodology to improve operating efficiency. So, it would be advisable here that the company seeks help of a professional who knows well about the target market and is also capable enough to device a blueprint to penetrate the market. That's how a difference of perspective helps.

Consider this example. The workforce of the company is having some ideological differences with the management. This tiff has resulted in reduced productivity. What the company needs is an arbitrator who can resolve the issue in an unbiased manner. It might be difficult to find such a person from within the company. Hence, an outside professional may be sought to help out in this case.

Finally consider this. Say, the company is facing operation efficiency crisis. It needs to solve it as soon as possible. But simultaneously, it also needs to ensure that not too many resources like time and man power are allotted to this problem solving. If the employees themselves leave their own work and involve in problem solving, their own work would be left undone. In such a case, to not let the productivity go down, a person not from the company but from outside, needs to be assigned the job of problem solution. This would save time and energy of employees as well as get the problem solved.

Although, it may be true that hiring an outside professional may be heavy on the company's budget. Also, that professional will need enough time to gauge the company's working, employee morale, etc. This option might take some time and money. Nevertheless, the benefits of the option seem to outweigh the costs.