In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I believe that it’s impossible to make a remarkable contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within the essential and basic fields, such as physics and math. Still, other fields such as computer engineering, art, and literature, the major contribution could be done without precedent’s significant achievements.

For the science and technology field, there is always existing someone pioneering in the field and make a tremendous contribution to it, then followers could further evolve and improve based on previous achievements. And that could explain scientists and technicians could make a breakthrough as pioneering characters without precedent huge achievements. Because in these fields evolution, there must be a considerable contribution first and that is developed under the condition without any past achievements within that field. For example, until Wright brother’s achievements, we have no way to fly in the sky. Before them, there is obviously no significant findings or contribution to the plane field. After them, based on those achievements, scientists and technicians have further developed larger and faster planes that could carry more than a hundred people to cross the sea and forms the dense transportation network today.

The naysayers may argue that plenty of technologies we use today are based on previous science achievements. Certainly, for those are basic and classic rules such as physics and math, we can’t deny that experts couldn’t make a significant contribution unless remarkable achievements existed. For example, the computers’ invention by IBM is based on semiconductor development which is also a breakthrough based on the laws of physics. Therefore, it is clear that the classic rule plays an essential role that every related field relies on and developed according to them.

Nevertheless, except basic rules, it doesn’t mean we must rely on precedent’s effort to make further remarkable contributions in any field. For literature and art field, the creativity is often unlimited and unique, most of the major contribution is not dependent on ancestors’ achievements. For instance, Shakespeare made the best well-known literature contribution and van Gogh made his painting distinctly. Therefore, art and literature field are generally independent of others’ contributions.

In conclusion, we can make a breakthrough or significant contribution to any field unless they are classic or basic rules that have to be excavated first, then many related fields could develop accordingly.