“In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Making a contribution in any kind of field, obviously requires some level of knowledge and proficiency in that area. Without knowing the current situation and the previous attempts to make contributions in that field, it would be hard to come up with something new. If a person have achieved something previously in a specific area or he knows that somebody have, it would of course be easier and may be more efficient for him to achieve something even better. But still, an influence of a previous achievement is not the only thing that is needed to succeed in a new contribution.

Previous achievements lead people to do more, by giving them more confidence. To start with an example, let us think of a phd student in economics. If he is doing a phd in economics, this means that he must have been a good student during his earlier studies as well, so that he decided to learn and study more. During his path, he must probably have heard about previous achievements in that area and got influenced by them. As another example, if somebody chooses to study medicine and carries on with his studies,then he would be more probable to cure cancer when compared to let’s say a famous ballet dancer who is also brilliant in a completely different manner but who is not influenced by medical achievements the way that the other person did. So the thing is, these are all about what influences people the most.

The two things which are at least as important as the influence of earlier achievements are the willingness and passion of a person in a field, in order for him to make a contribution. The example would be the following. While Edison was working on his invention of the lamp, clearly there was no one who has also invented it before him. He worked hard and kept failing for a long time and when his colleague asked him if he still wanted to continue after his nine hundred and ninety ninth trial, he said that he then knew “how not to invent a lamp” in nine hundred and ninety nine ways, but the others knew zero. So that passion lead him to be the inventor of it.

As a result, I of course believe that previous achievements influence and encourage people to do more. Thus, I do not think that it is ‘impossible’ to make contributions if there is no previous success. The more important thing is being enthusiastic about becoming a part of a particular field by making a contribution, being focused on it and never losing the passion to succeed.