Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To better contextualize the living habits, and aspirations of a society, a point of reference from the knowledge about well-known heroes or role models of a society would be helpful. This is because often times, a character in history comes to be known as a “hero” through generations by the word of mouth. Quite intuitively, we can expect the members of a community to be willing to transgress knowledge and stories that resemble pride of own culture, or ideals that they believe should be sources of inspiration or models to be replicated by the next generations. Hence, it is relevant to think that a society’s highest ideals would be embedded in their man and woman heroes and role models.

On the other hand, “understanding the character of a society” encompasses more than who the society has chosen to remember as their heroes and role models, which is likely to have created upon many factors, only one of which could be the society’s highest ideals, suggested by the claim and the reason given. I would argue that a society is made up of its human community, tangible and intangible environment, cultural heritage, norms, language, music, religion and many more that would collectively let us understand the values and unique identity of that society.

Therefore, looking at how the claim above is limiting to capture how else we could understand the character of a society, it firstly, limits the boundaries of heroes and role models, thus relevant ideals of society to human characters: men and women. For example, if we take the religious beliefs in India, we see that an animal like the cow is worshipped and is very integral to how the economic, and cultural habits of its smaller societies have been shaped. A similar example is seen by the animal characters that symbolize different identities and behavioral elements in the Chinese calendar as well.

While this does not deny the importance of significant human figures in each culture such as Gandhi, or Chinese Emperor’s, the nonhumane culture of societies is crucial to complement a community’s identity.

Moreover, none of these symbols are always the representative of the highest ideals. Sometimes cultures can choose to praise a person, a “hero”, or a symbol to exemplify the opposite of the highest ideal.

Another complexity involved in the claim is caused by the word selection of “the best way”. Here, it is very ambiguous as to who determines the best way to understand a society. The claim lacks a trajectory. In different circumstances, the better way to approach our analysis of one culture might vary. Such that to understand a society’s religious beliefs, a society’s economic activities, a society’s political identity different factors across their history might be considered. And if all of these factors are agreed to make up the overall character of a society –religion, culture, politics, etc- then the presence of a “best” way to understand a society’s character itself might not exist.