Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power

should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new

leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every field experiences changes in theories and methodologies prevailing in the area as time passes, be it business, politics, education or government. The innovations happening in the field provides new opportunities of growth, by introducing some improvements over the pre-existing techniques. But, in order to apply these in the field, we need people who are up-to-date in the given field, and are aware of the advances happening currently. Moreover, if someone is in power for a long time, he/she would get obsessed with it over time, and the plans for betterment would find a place for themselves in some corner. Hence we need to make sure that leadership changes sufficiently often in any field.

Consider the example of a democratic government. Suppose a party is in power for considerably long time (say 15 years). The leaders of the party would start becoming attached to their authorities and power in the government. If these leaders gain too much power, they would start misusing it in order to ensure that they stay in power. The needs of the people would become secondary to the government. Hence, the government leadership should switch after a tenure, so that there remains a tussle for power among the various parties in the country, and this competition would eventually be very favourable for the country’s overall growth.

The field of education is no different. The constant influx of knowledge that any technical field experiences due to active research needs to reach the students via the books they read and the lessons they are taught. To ensure this, the leaders of an educational institutions must be well-aware of the advancements doing on in different fields, which in turn needs a change of leadership after specific durations.

But this does not mean that the old leadership should become insignificant and obsolete after this change of power takes place. Any new leader needs guidance from an experienced leader, who held the reigns of the job for several years, and understands the nuances and intricacies of the job. Their knowledge would help the new leadership understand his/her duties and make sure that the legacy of the leadership is carried forward, just with a change of face. This is extremely important, since any kind of lousiness or incompetence observed in the leadership would make the entire enterprise crumble due to lack of faith in the authority.

Hence, I believe that those in power must step down after some period of time (depending on the field), and new leadership should be given a chance in order to ensure growth of the enterprise. But the new leadership must go hand-in-hand with the old leadership in order to understand the working of the enterprise and ensure a fast shift of power and a smoother transitioning into power.