Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In a current society, political issues are pivotal for a nation’s prosperity. Therefore, it is debatable whether having a new leadership and obligating the current people with the power to step down after a certain amount of years is beneficial for success. I agree with the claim that after five years, people who have power should step down. However, I disagree with the reason that the most definite way to success for any corporation is revitalizing through having a new leader.

First, having a new leader in five years is beneficial in the field of business. Take Theranos, for example. Theranos was a company that developed groundbreaking blood test technology. Elizabeth Holmes, who was a leader of that company was only nineteen years old by then which is remarkable that she made such a success at a young age. However, it turned out that she fabricated the test result to be successful, and everything turned out to be a false claim later. If the leader changed after five years, there would be a chance to make a change in the false claim. However, Holmes kept the power for a long time, which led to the collapse of the corporation.

Second, a society can gain more benefits by changing into a new leader after five years. Take Franklin Roosevelt, for example. Roosevelt was a U.S. president during an economic crisis, the Great Depression in the United States. After he became a leader of the nation, he made an effort to rehabilitate from such a crisis. He brought up the New Deal Plan, which helped the government overcome the problematic situation, successfully making the path to a nation’s thrive. If it were not for Roosevelt’s new leadership, there would not have been such a crisis. Therefore, it is crucial to have five years of qualifications in periods of leadership.

However, having a new leader is not always the best way that leads to revitalizing an enterprise. As it is crucial to change the power after a few years to prevent leaders from overusing the power, having new leaders does not ensure a society that will lead to the revitalization of a certain situation. Take Donald Trump, for example. He became the president of the United States after the five-year qualification of the previous president. However, he was not able to resolve the economic issues or societal issues in the U.S.

In summary, it is crucial to change into a new leader after five years to prevent leaders from overusing their power. However, it is not always the best way to recover from a crisis. The way that leads an enterprise prosperity is not just the presence of a new leader, but a person with moral ethics.