In any situation progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

As human beings, each person has a unique perspective on each subject based on his/her life experiences. As a result, everyone has his/her own opinion about what is progress and how you can achieve it. Some believe that you do not need to listen to others who have contrasting points of view because they may intend to interrupt you. Although their opinion would be correct in some situations I disagree with this view and progress can be made by discovering the minds of others.

Firstly, contrasting ideas are constructive which means we can identify our flaws which did not be recognized from our view. Each contrasting view of points is equal to one fault from that view. For instance, if you are a manager of a product team, the whole team has the same goal; launching the product. Therefore, each idea is compatible with the goal even the contrasting one. Hence, by evaluating this kind of ideas we can improve the product and prevent failure in the future. Although matched opinions can augment the quality of work contrasting ones are much more effective and are essential for improvement.

Secondly, contrasting ideas allow you to broaden your mind and knowledge. hearing an idea which is not in line with your opinion encourages you to read and search more about the subject than before. Therefore, you would scrutiny the subject not only from your perspective but also from different views and aspects. As a result, you can gain more information and knowledge which means more reliability in your decision making and improvement can achieve. As a personal experience, I had a course named Machine Learning last semester. For doing its homework, my friend and I always argued about our solutions to homework. This kind of relationship always promoted me to read more and search the points I did not recognize them until my friend indicated them. Finally, I could feel my advance in this course thanks to my friend.

Besides all the above reasons and many other ones, it is trustworthy to infer that contrasting ideas can have negative effects on progress, and not only they would not cause an improvement but also interrupt it and even prevent it. The argument with people who only want to be an obstacle to your improvement is just wasting time. As a proposal, it is better to hear the opinions of trusted people whose contrasting points of view are valuable.

To wrap up, the positive effects of contrasting points of view on progress are more than the matched ones. This kind of view is essential to notice our faults and extend our knowledge and mind. In fact, without fault correction and broad knowledge, no one can make progress. Nonetheless, contrasting opinions can prohibit progress and waste valuable time by inefficient arguments.