In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Millions of minds give birth to millions of points of view. It is always advisable to take advice and views from multiple people, such as through surveys, interviews, questionnaires, etc. if a product-based company is about to launch a product. But multiple voices in some scenarios, such as, in the case of one’s career can lead to confusion and discouragement.

Any situation in life can lead to varied destinations and every person on earth may make different choices depending upon one’s circumstances, culture, surroundings, past experiences, and future expectations. Certain topics like choosing your career should be a personal decision and should depend more on your liking and less on what people have to say. Art is not considered to be a good choice in the Asian culture, especially in the Southern part of Asia, like in India, as some people there expect their children to have a high-paying job and that is considered to be a successful life there. Indeed, that is a successful life when you have enough disposable money in your hands, but only if the person doing that job is happy. When a person shows his inclination toward art or any other nonacademic field, people will surely try to oppose your decision and will discourage him at every stage and this will lead to a lack of motivation this will, in turn, leads to a lot of hardship and struggle.

Whereas, when a product is about to be launched, a company is about to publish an IPO, or an entrepreneur is planning to open a new business, all these decisions should and must depend upon the opinions of others as people are going to be their potential customer. It is always advisable to understand what people expect from your product and what are the needs of the current day market. Meeting with the board and employees can be the first step towards gaining insights into the expectations and opinions for the product. Surveys, advertisements, social media, polls, etc. are some of the other ways which can help you to know what alterations should be done, what features may be added, whether and will people accept the product at the set price, and what could be the expected sale. All these figures unknown and all these questions unanswered may add up to a hefty financial loss to your organization. Launching the product into the market and then considering the plausible and expected changes will not be a rational decision as the loss has already occurred. Hence, critics play a huge role in making progress in such cases.

Another field in which opinions are much needed may be politics, if you are governing a democratic nation, then the sentiments and beliefs of the public are mandatory in law making, privatization, reservation schemes, budgets, security, education policies, etc. On the other hand, the decision should be entirely personal when the people concerned are your family members because no one will ever empathize with you and will give opinions as per their culture and circumstances.

In conclusion, it is certain that if we want to make progress and succeed in an endeavor, then we must move forward with both contrasting and favoring minds. But, one should be rational enough to comprehend where the judgments are not required.