Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is flawed due to the following fundamental reason and requires the attention.

The argument does not present the statistics of previous years. The entire argument is based on increase in positive reviews in terms of percentage, not in terms of numbers. There is a room for reasonable doubt that the movies produced by Super Screen might have received negative reviews in previous years, which could have led to a decrease in number of people attending its movies.

However, one can not reject the possibility that sincere fans of Super Screen might be highly opinionated and would like the movies produced by Super Screen. The same number of fans who liked its movies would have liked the movies produced during last year.

Also, neutral spectators would have disliked the movie and decided not to watch any Super Screen produced movie. This would lead to net decrease in viewers but number of fans would be retained. Therefore, percentage of positive reviews would have increased and the problem might be with the content of the movies produced, not with the advertisement. Hence, it is not reasonable to invest greater share of budget in advertisement without addressing the above fact.