Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The success of many well reputed organization often comes up as a result of excellent leadership qualities. One of the major factors that influence a good reputation of an organization is loyalty and loyalty of an organization is an epitome of sound moral judgement of its leader. Therefore, an effective leader should possess sound moral judgement as an important trait in order to have consistency in performance of his organization.

Leadership qualities not only include patronizing peers but also include strong decision making abilities. A leader of any organization, be it public or private, often faces the situations that demands her/him to make a strong decision that affect the reputation of his/her organization for its fidelity when it comes to dealing with organization's client.

For instance, a breach of trust with the clients would definitely desecrate the reputation of the organization. If any subordinate/peer of an organization actively invovles in an activity that is extremely disloyal to its clients, then the organization would lose its reputation and would no longer be trusted.

To support the previous statement, imagine a situation where a highly qualified worker leaks some of the confidential details of the clients for his/her benefits and an effective leader of this organization does not take a moral judgement such as sacking this highly skilled peer in order to not lose the valuable peer in terms of qualifications. This is certainly not a good characteristic of an effective leader since he/she puts his/her highly qualified peer, who is a valuable asset to the organization in terms of talent, over his/her clients, when it comes to serious matters like breach of trust that requires sound moral judgement of an effective leader.

Hence, an effective leader should always make a sound moral judgement irrespective of the fact that he/she would not maintain the respect of his or her peers.