People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

People encounter different kinds of problems in their everyday life and these problems demand people to take decisions that lead to better and stable results. Better decisions that give stable results require equanimity. Hence, people who are equable always take every possible outcomes into the consideration. On the contrary, people who make decisions based on emotion lack equanimity under these circumstances. This makes them vulnerable to serious ramifications, which would occur as a result of bad decisions, which in turn, is a consequence of decisions based on emotion.

Therefore, People who make decisions based on emotion often lead to dangerous consequence. People justifying these emotional decisions with logic are poor decision makers.

To understand the difference stated above, consider a situation where a leader of an organization encounters bankruptcy. An equable leader, who is calm and composed, will take decisions that would take long term consequence into the account and often try to avoid decisions like sacking the employee, reducing exorbitant pay cuts, etc. On the other hand, an emotionally driven leader, in order to save his/her reputation, would take rash decisions that affect the others in the organization.

Apart from making bad decisions due to emotions, people who justify the decisions are more dangerous. Such people are highly presumptuous and will never try to rectify their mistakes in future. Hence, they often end up taking poor decisions.

Hence, people who are rational, always turn to be good decision makers whereas people who are emotional and dogmatic with their justifications always turn to be poor decision makers.