Because of funding limits, many schools are cutting back on what they see as “fringe” disciplines, such as music education. This is a mistake. Since music education is important even beyond the enjoyment it brings to the knowledgeable listener, its funding should be protected.

Write a response to the recommendation in which you discuss why you either agree or disagree with it. Support your response with evidence and/or examples.

Few would deny the pleasures of music. For centuries, people have enjoyed singing, performing, and listening to music in all its forms. Yet, many people argue for limiting the teaching of music education in schools solely for economic reasons. We are continually reminded by the news media, politicians, and activists that money is limited and difficult decisions must be made. For educators dealing with resource shortfalls, a “trivial” discipline like music could end up on the chopping block. This would be an unfortunate outcome, because music has value beyond the pleasure it brings.

First, working with music can help develop important skills that children need for their studies and will benefit them as adults. Brain science has shown that reasoning and coordination can both benefit from music education. The left side of the brain is concerned with logic and rote learning, and studying music can help with the development of these left-brain skills. In addition, memorizing musical passages or lyrics can help with memory retention. Performing music can help with hand-eye coordination, in the same way that participating in sports can. Moreover, music can help a child’s facility with language. Studies show that children who practice music have bigger vocabularies and a better sense of grammar than do other children, and the earlier the child begins to study music, the better.

Music education can provide psychological and social benefits as well. In another similarity to sports, proficiency in music can improve a child’s self-confidence and emotional development. Since practice makes perfect, children learn to create better work and so develop an interest in craft and accomplishment, boosting their self-esteem. Learning and mastering a musical instrument requires commitment, which can increase self-discipline. Even learning a simple piece of music can provide a sense of achievement. In yet another similarity to sports, performing in a musical ensemble or a choir can develop teamwork skills.

Some could argue that the use of standardized tests in schools encourages teachers to stick to the skills and knowledge that those tests focus on. As well, an increasingly diverse student body, with varying levels of English language proficiency, poses challenges to the prioritization of "fringe" disciplines. As demonstrated above, however, music education supports core skills with its benefits to logic, memory retention, and language facility. Moreover, because music requires little knowledge of any particular language, it is an ideal subject to engage all students in school, no matter their backgrounds.

Clearly, if increased developmental skills and psychological and social benefits, as well as aesthetic pleasure, are valued, then music education should be funded in schools. Music education is not a fringe element of the curriculum but a key to all-round learning.