A nation should ultimately be responsible for the health, welfare, and prosperity of its own citizens.

Write a response discussing your reaction to the stated policy. Justify your reasoning for the position you take. Explain the potential consequences or implications of implementing such a policy and how this informs your position.

A nation is made of not the great buildings or resources it possesses but its own people. To maintain the health and welfare of that people for the welfare of the country itself, is something to take a note of. The nation provides many things for the betterment and growth of its citizens. Health and welfare should be the primary things among all other.

The technological and industrial developments of a country, most of the times follows with the declining health of the public. The nation being the authority that sanctions such power plants, industries and other hazardous factories that pollute the atmosphere near the neighbourhoods, should take necessary precautions beforehand. Maintaining proper distances from residential colonies and quality checking the process followed in each industry can mitigate the spread of various diseases.

Government should also consider the part of the population below a certain financial status and provide suitable policies and subsidies so that they can receive proper treatment in the hospitals too. People living in backward areas too should be provided with well maintained hospitals within nearby distance. Various medical and surgical appliances should also be made available.

There are many health destroying habits that people do not avoid. Many people although being frequently warned by various awareness programmes and campaigns, keep smoking and using many narcotics that are detrimental. The only proper way to fight this is through banning such pernicious substances and taking proper action against the individuals who might be breaking such laws.

Although some might argue that such laws, subsidies and policies might come as a heavy burden on the nation, it is one of those things that is worth all the burden. The health of many people gradually vanishes, mortality rate slowly climbs up due to the many newly introduced diseases and many children, having lower immunity to diseases succumb to them. Putting a hard stop to these fatalities may be implausible, but to try all the means within the power to prevent as many deaths as possible is necessary.