The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the existence of the word "competitiveness" implies, it is sometimed deemed that competition is one of the most efficient method to excel. In this regard, it is debatable whether infusing a sense of competition to young people is more efficient than infusing that of cooperation to teach young people a concept of leadership. However, in most cases, I believe that cooperation is more important, thereby efficient, for young people to learn about leadership.

Admittedly, in some cases, competition is crucial in a company's success, and consequently infusing young people a sense of competition might be an efficient way to prepare young people as a leader. This repect can be bolstered by Samsung, one of the only cellphone company which decided to compete with Apple in the embryonic stage of the smartphone industry. On the contrary, most of other cellphone firms decided to cooperate, rather than to compete, with Apple, by providing them some crucial components while manufacturing "canonical" types of cellphones they had been produced. As many people would agree, the cellphone industry was completely deracinated by the smartphone industry, leaving Samsung few companies that survived after the advent of iPhone, and also the only company comparable to Apple. As this example reveals, competition sometimes helps company excel.

However, simply relying on the competion could mire a company and the leaders in a faliure. For example, in case of dealing with Semiconductor industry, many companies have perished because they had choosed to compete. Before the same aforementioned company, Samsung, gained their supremacy on the share of DRAM products, the share of DRAM products were distributed more equally than now to various different firms. However, Samsung decided to initiate the chicken-game, by lowering their price to the unprecedented level. However, most other companies decided to compete with Samsung, and due to that decision, those companies had to withdraw from the DRAM industry. Since some experts aver that they could have flourished if they choose to provide the sub-components that are required to fabricate the DRAM devices Samsung produces, this example weakens the importance of competition to leadership. Moreover, it is also notable that as the industry is becoming more interdisciplinary, the cooperation with other people is also becoming more important.

In brief, although competition sometimes play a crucial role in company's success, cooperation is in general more important. Therefore, rather than instilling young people the myopic obssesion with competition, leaders must try to foster them a sense of cooperation.