The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A leader is someone who does not command his teammates rather listens to their demands and will do his best to meet them. He creates a amicable environment for the members of the team to work in. The youth or the younger generation of the people are the emerging leaders of any nation and a question as to which approach to follow while developing the leadership skills is prevailing, a sense of competition or a satisfaction of cooperation. I believe that the upcoming genration must be taught teamwork, must be taught kindness and generosity rather than self gain and self delevopment. I believe in a holistic development rather than hostile growth.

Firstly, a competition is something that develops hostility among the people. A competition leads to a single winner and a many losers. For example, if there is a single price to win among a class of 20 students, it only means that out of the 20 students, there is only one winner and 19 losers. Competition in my opinion is a misnomer of leadership. If the one leader who won the award tries to dominate the other, or misue the throne, then the whole class is in ashes. Similarly, within a government or within an indusrty, if there is competition among themselves, then the governemnt or the members of the industry are meant to fail due to the vulnerability and lack of coordination.

Further, cooperation fosters teamwork. Teamwork is the strongest known tool for representing the leadership. If there is coordiation and cooperation among the members of the team and a sense of togetherness, then the leader is said to suceed.For instance, consider a team of 11 players of a Cricket match. If the 11 players wish to play in the way they like, then the team is meant to lose, however the Indian team in 2011 has veritably displyed the meaning of teamwork where the captain of the team heard the demands of the team and directed each one to work in a cooporative way. This had lead to the ultimate success where team India has won the title of world champions.

However, in few situations, there might be circumstances where excessive cooperation may lead to loosing motivation and lack of interest to contribute. In such situation a competition with small rewards might be very helpful. For instane, in a NGO where the volunteers have lost interest to contribute to the elderly health, an initiative to award the best volunteer with food coupons or recognising them in public may induce a sense of motivation and the volunteers might work for the betterment of the society. Similarly in certain occasions, in a goverment or indusrtial sectors a healthy competition may bolster the willingness of the people to work better and contribute more.

Thus it is evident that a person who wants to become a leader through competition is only looking for self gain, where as someone who wants to grow along with their peers is a true leader needing to be acclaimed. I belive that this young generation, needs to be made aware of the imprtane of cooperation and growth as a team. They must be kept away from a toxic competitive growth to become a respectable leaders.