The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

In the recommendation made by the financial planning committee, to the administration of the Fern Valley University, the financial planning committee suggests that a fund raining campaign among the alumni shall be done in order to obtain the necessary funds for the expanding the subjects range and improving the library facilities. According to the committee, the poor enrollments and admissions at the University, as surveyed among their students are due to the poor teaching quality and inadequate library resources and increasing them would better the situation of the University. While the argument of the committee sounds vaild and logical, it is important to identify that the committee has made many assumptions without concrete evidences. The arguments made by the committee are thus rife with assumptions and flaws.

Firstly, the author argues that poor teaching and inadequate library resources are the chief sources of dissatisfaction with the Fern Valley, as is discovered from their own students. In this argument, we are unaware on the number of students that were being asked or surveyed, and it shall be safe to say author makes an assumption that the few students he surveyed shall represent the entire University which may not be true. There could be varied other reasons for the poor performace of the University like the lack of proper accomodation for students studying in the University, or external factors like the high competition among the Universities in the same location. Therefore, it is important procure evidence on the number of students surveyed and the opinion of other students of the University. External factors shall also be considered while evaluating the reasons behind Fern Valleys performance and reputation.

Later, the author suggest that a fund raising shall be conducted to raise the required money to focus on the improvements to be made. He makes an assumption here that, on fund raising among the alumni, he shall receive all the money required for improving the teaching quality and the library resources. We are unaware of the age group of the alumni, and the monetary stability of the alumni of the University. It shall not be safe to assume that the alumni of the University are well settled and earning enough to fund the university with the required amount. Some alumni, even on possessing the required resources, may turn their back on the University. It is highly risky to assume the same and proceed forward without any proper evidence on the estimate of fundings to be received from each University pass out, after analysing their financial conditions.

Finally, the author makes a heavy assumption that the fund raiser event shall solve all its crisis. He mentions that the campaign will enable them to expand the range of subjects and increase the size of library facilities. There is no guarantee that on expanding the range of subjects being that the condition or the demand for the University will become any better. Instead, there could also be a possibility that instead of increasing the resources, he may focus on betterment of the exisitng teaching Quality. This assumption is not backed by any valid evidence and so there is no guarantee that the postion of the University will be any better.

Therefore, the claim made by the auhtor lacks valid evidences without which we are not in a position to come to any conclusion. We shall requrie more information on the reasons for the poor performace for wide range of surveyers, we need the analysis report on the