Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Having a quality education is necessary to secure a good future for a nation. To ensure a quality education, a student has to pass through many competitive exams at many levels. It is not uncommon for students to work tirelessly for securing the first position in any competitive exam and instantly doubting oneself when one fails to achieve such. The prompt suggests that such competition limits the quality of learning. While I mostly disagree with this statement for two reasons , I do believe that sometimes taking competition to an extreme level may hinder one's perspective of learning.

To begin, healthy competition among peers is good for personal growth of a student. Competition helps them understand their ability by comparing themselves with their peers and thus making them work harder towards strengthening their abilities and increasing their knowledge. The absence of any competition will only make students lethargic and eventually they will become more complacent with any output and not work towards achieving a better knowledge. For instance, many extra curricular competitions are held at many level of educational institutions. And having a healthy competition among their peers will encourage students to participate in those competitions and work towards achieving better skills. The lack of any sense of competition will discourage students from attending any extra curricular events thus becoming complacent towards what they are receiving rather than working for something greater. This example demonstrates how a healthy competition will make students more inclined towards working for an incentive or better output rather than just be complacent with what knowledge they are receiving through a curriculum.

Furthermore, competitions at school and college level is only preparing a student for the real life. The job market in real world is brutal, where hundreds and maybe thousands of candidates are contending for the same job. Through competitions at all levels of educations, student learns to become a part of the hustle of real life. And it will make their transition to the real world smoother. A student group who has grown up seeing no competition among peers will face hardships while transitioning to the real life. And learning to work for higher grades through competition will help student understand how working persistently for achieving and strengthening one's set of skills will make them more fit for the job market.

Lastly , I do concede that sometimes the goal of achieving higher grades become more important for the students than the process of learning when the competitions are extreme. Such situations do hinder the quality of education. Extreme competitions are not healthy for students. For such situations , educational institutions at a macro scale should impose rules and standards so that the competition doesn't get extreme. For instances, there are many cases, where a student securing the first positions is getting so many praises from everyone while the students who couldn't secure a good position are getting reprimanded in their home or from even teachers. Such cases should be discouraged. Rather teachers should try to encourage healthy competition where even if a student fail to achieve their desired grade, teachers and parents should encourage them to try for the next time rather than reprimanding them and making them feel isolated.

In conclusion, healthy competitions for higher grades make students more determined and hard working. Competitions help them understand how to work for their goals and how to achieve success in attaining their goals. However, extreme competition does more harm than good at any level of education.