The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

A society's young generation is it's heart. The quality of the future of any country or any society, is directly proportional to how erudite the young generation is and how much can they empathize with the people around them. The prompt suggests the best way to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, and not competition. I highly agree with this suggestion. The arguments, for the prompt will be discussed in detail in the coming sections.

First of all, the mark of any great leader, is how much they know about the people they are leading and to what extent can they sympathize with the sorrows and happiness of their followers. This is the case for leaders in every sector, including but not limited to government, industry or amy other fields. If a leader is not aware of the present condition of their followers, how will he lead them? Such a virtue can only be reached through cooperation not competition. For example: the political leaders of the Indian subcontinent are subsumed by corruption as they compete with other leaders in a vicious race to accumulate wealth. Their motives are driven by a competition for wealth and not by an innate desire to help the people of the country. Such a problem, can only be solved through appropriate cooperation with the common people of the country to get a better understanding of what is necessary to root out the issues. Consequently, highlighting the point of rasing our young generation who prioritize cooperation more than competition.

Second of all, we must keep in mind that, a leader is the leader for everyone. Thus, to lead everyone he or she must be aware of the virtues or vices of everyone as well. For example: let us consider the leader of a team working towards building a software for a client. His team consists of several people each with their unique skillset. Lack of cooperation between the leader and his subordinates will lead to a complete disaster of the software development. The leader will not be able to partition the tasks appropriately, keeping in mind the skillsets of his employees. Consquently, his subordinates will begin to despise him and this will lead to the eventual collapse of the development. As a result, we can observe that if a leader had the skill of cooperation instilled in him, the disaster could have been precluded. Thus, further empasizing the statement in the prompt that future leaders should be brought up instilling a sense of cooperation in them and not competition.

On the contrary, it can be argued that without proper competition the necessary technical skills required to survive in such a cruel society like ours, will never be developed. But no virtue is more important for a leader, than the virtue of knowing the people he or she is leading. So we can conclude by saying that if a future leader has to sacrifice a certain degree of expertise of a technical skill, it is worthwhile in the grand scheme of churning out apt leaders for the country.