The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons

and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“If you want to go fast go alone but if you want to go far go together” is a Ghanaian proverb that tries is best to juxtapose the benefits of competition and cooperation, with the former part of the proverb representing competition and the latter speaking to cooperation. Cooperation and competition comes in different forms, but in the light of this essay cooperation means the coming together of people from different backgrounds to achieve a particular goal, with no other ulterior motives. Competition on the other hand means a group individuals or entities working their personal best to achieve a particular goal often for their personal glory.

Cooperation just as competition since time in memorial has helped humanity birthed many profitable ideas, but has also led to many atrocities. Hence, to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields imbibing in them a sense of cooperation is the best of both worlds. With cooperation, there is often a sense of structure, responsibility and accountability which helps breed other soft skills that directly and indirectly assist in the development or achievement of any goal. However, cooperation has it’s shortcomings such as laziness among some members in huge teams, even it is believed that 80 percent or the work in a company is often done by 20 percent of the workforce. But there might be a plethora of reasons accounting for this misshapen, hence cooperation cannot be the only one to blame. One might say competition is necessary for development since it often keeps people on their toes. Making one work extra hard to come with a solution for an urgent need. For example, players in a particular market or niche often compete with each other for customers making them work hard to ensure they manufacture the best possible product.