The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The word cooperation used here suggests the meanings of teamwork, support and congruent state of mind. I have seen many of the tasks or activities which requires the individuals to work as a team rather than compete amongst themselves which obviously would result in poor overall performance. So I strongly agree with the claim that young people should learn how to work in cooperation with the others nonetheless of which field they are going to work in, let it be a technological company or maybe as a political leader or even in any sports. However, I also believe that competition also plays an important part of the role in a young person’s life.

To illustrate my thoughts, I would provide an example that is regarding to the Indian historical relationship with the British. The British landed on the Indian soil around 1610 with the purpose of business trades. During that time, India had several kingdoms with their respective rulers. As there were different rulers spread throughout the land, each ruler had his own pride and mindset which contravenes with the others. Now due to this lack of harmony within the nation, British started to intervene in the political matters and gradually they started capturing different kingdoms one by one and then the rest is history. I think this is the best example which illustrates the lack of cooperation amongst the rulers of different kingdoms and its consequences. No doubt that individually they were strong and potent as a good leader but was it enough to overcome the British invasion?

Another example that shows how the cooperation between a private firm and government body has achieved one of the greatest achievements in human history. Yes, they are SpaceX and NASA. The corroboration of both the firms has enabled the SpaceX to launch a crew of astronauts to the International Space Station in May 30, 2020. If only NASA did not collaborate with the SpaceX company and both of them worked as separate individual bodies, it would be difficult to complete such great task and thus the current results might have been seen in the less distant future. Because of this harmony between two different entities, it has also given a glimpse of hope for the humanity to successfully achieve the human colonization on Mars.

I would also like to share an example of how competition is also an important factor in a young person’s life. According to me, competition can be classified into two categories: good rivalry and bad rivalry. It is prominent that the competition should be kept as a good rivalry only because the term competition and thrive to be better are innate characteristics of a human psychology. If there is no competition, your want to be better will be extinguished and you will be in a dead state. And I don’t think that there is any “perfect” human being existing till date and every individual is trying to make himself/herself better than the yesterday. If a person takes the competition as a bad rivalry, he/she will eventually lose the sense of himself/herself and may also sidetrack from his/her original motives and goals.

So in short, I strongly believe that cooperation or collaboration or teamwork are important aspects for a person in spite of whatever field he/she is working in. Because that will help them accomplish their tasks and achieve their goals more effectively.