The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The race to the top of any ladder is not a piece of cake. It requires sheer focus and the ability to make firm decisions whether one likes it or not. To become a leader in any field, one has to outrun the other people in the race. Therefore, I strongly disagree that by instilling a sense of cooperation and not a sense of competition among the youngsters will help them become a leader for the following reasons.

Every child has the innate desire to reach to the stars and make it one day. However, being a good person isn't always the way to the top. For example, During a student's college life, there are multiple online coding competitions that provide the students with a platform to shine and hone their skills. However, these competitions require the students to think critically by being under time pressure. The participants that enter these competitions are taught nothing but the techniques to win. Once a person enters this competition he's all alone and there is no one to help him over there. But by being in such an intensive and pressure situation, the person develops a sense of fight, he develops the instincts that are needed to survive till the end. He needs to learn quickly enough that the world is not a lovey-dovey place, instead, it is a brutal cold-hearted place where everyone is rushing to make it to the top and you need to fight your way out to reach there.

Reaching to the stars is one thing, but improving and making yourself much more refined is another important aspect of being a leader. If there's no competition, the sense and will to improve yourself is no longer going to be present within you. A person might think that whatever and however I am right now, that's the best of me. For example, in 2007 Steve jobs launched the very first iPhone that had one feature completely different from other phones. The touch screen. Before the iPhone came into the market, every other manufacture didn't even consider bringing in a touch screen phone and were contended with their traditional bulky handheld devices. The people, however, loved the new touch screen phone and that forced the other companies to step up their game. Now, presently every single phone company is trying to come up with innovations that can revolutionize the smartphone industry and so they can come on the top. As a result of the above example, competition not only forces you to think outside the box but it also instils a sense of betterment among us.

Of course, some might argue that cooperation and team building are important factors for becoming a leader. But in the real world, when you are in trouble, nobody is going to come to save you and pick you up. It has to be you that has to get up and come back with a fighting spirit. It is therefore in the best interest of the future leaders of the society that they are taught how to tackle the competition that's out there in the real world.