Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The basis of gaining knowledge always relies on a student’s ability to question why a certain thing is happening, what is the secret behind it. Curiosity is what drives every individual up the ladder of knowledge. That is why, I strongly agree that students should always be in a state of questioning what they are taught for the following reasons.

Accepting something passively completely removes the fact to check the validity of the information. There will be no possible way to determine as to what extent the information is really plausible. During the early days of our world, majority of the people used to assume that earth is simply flat and not spherical. If this form of information wouldn’t have been questioned by anyone at that time then today also, we would have been assuming and thinking clearly that the earth is still flat. However, there were astronomers and curious people who questioned that if earth really is flat, why is there no a specific end or a corner to the world. They questioned more and more and tried to experiment more and more and finally they came ahead with concrete proof that earth wasn’t really flat but in fact it was spherical which was proved even much more accurately when humans first launched satellites in space with cameras. The above example clearly shows that as humans thrive for questions and deeper knowledge in the subject, they unravel more insights thus validating the authenticity of the information and not just accepting it like robots.

Half knowledge is the worst form of knowledge. It means that when you receive an information, and you accept it without any consideration, you are basically deprived of the facts and figures that went behind formulating that information. During the covid-19 pandemic, people started hearing rumours that every one needs to wear masks and gloves when going outside. People started following diligently and eventually there were reports that people are suffocating due to the extensive use of masks. It was very well stated by WHO that people who are only contracted by the virus or are in close proximity with the people who are infected, should wear masks and not everyone. But due to the innate ability of many individuals without questioning the authenticity of the information that everyone should wear masks, the statement of WHO was completely ignored.

Due to the above stated reasons, it is very important for any person whether be it a student or a common man, to question the information. That way when someone questions you, you are ready with the necessary details and counterpoints so that no one can supress you or subjugate you of spreading falsifying information. Also, by letting students really question the teachings, there is a sense of understanding and conceptual clarity that is been instilled in them which they carry forward in their lives to make better decisions. Depriving them of that, is eventually throwing them to their doom and converting them from students to simply information receiving robots.