The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article written by Dr. Karp concludes that the child rearing conditions in Tertia is more focused on biological parents than the entire village contrasting the study done by Dr. Field and deeming his study to be invalid. The evidence that Dr. Karp gives is that his team of Graduate Students performed an interview-centred approach where the kids spoke more about their parents and not the people of the village. However, there needs to be given some specific evidence to fully evaluate this argument.

Firstly, Dr. Karp mentions that his team did an interview with the kids. However, he doesn’t mention the type of questions that were asked to kids. Maybe the kids were questioned more about their biological parents forcing them to converse about their parents, circumventing the aspects that lead to their all-round development. If Dr. Karp could provide some of the questions that were asked to the kids that lead him to that conclusion, then maybe a strong evaluation can be done for the argument. However, if the above does hold true, then the argument is considerably flawed.

Secondly, Dr. Karp mentions that the observation-centred approach is invalid. But does the interview centric approach let the researchers really study the children’s day to day activities? It could be that the observation method allowed Dr. Field to study the different aspects that led to the all- round development of the kids from the entire village and not just by the biological parents. By stating the Dr. Field’s research was invalid, Dr. Karp doesn’t provide the important evidence where the observation centric approach failed and caused invalid results. If the above does hold true, then Dr. Karp’s argument does not hold water.

Lastly, Dr. Field’s research was done twenty years ago. It could happen that in 20 years some grotesque incident must’ve happened with one of the kids and the people of the village. That incident could’ve completely destroyed the trust among the members of the village thereby not letting kids being brought up in communal environment anymore. This just means that Dr. Field’s research isn’t false but in fact due to the circumstances, the environment of child rearing changed. If the above is in fact true, then Dr. Karp’s conclusion needs to be revaluated again.

As of the moment, Dr. Karp’s argument is in need of crucial evidences that can help revaluate it. Perhaps in the form of two-way systematic study that involves interviews and observations could lead to a more conclusive study regarding the child rearing conditions in Tertia Island.