The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue of leadership in a society is a highly sensitive issue, as it goes a long way to determine the fate of that society. In lieu of this, a society that desires to achieve greatness and stability in the near future should be actively involed in preparing the young citizens of that society. Going by the common saying "children are the leaders of tomorrow", the children/youths should be properly prepared for leadership positions.

The big questions that arises as a result of this realization is whether they should be instilled with a sense of cooperation or a sense of competition in order to make them suitable candidates for government leadership positions. Personally, I think that for effective leadership, youths should be imbued with a sense of coorperation as opposed to competitions for the following reasons.

Firstly, when a group of people come together with one mind to achieve a common purpose, it is almost impossible to hamper them. A very common example is in the holy bible, where the people came together to build a tower that would go up to heaven, even God realized that if he leaves them to continue on their quest, it would be impossible to stop them. This goes a long way to cooperation butress the point that if youths are taught to cooperater rather than compete, they would achieve almost anything they plan to do, which would in turn give rise to a working society, with a government that cares about the people.

Secondly, cooperation would bring about proper planning and preparation in all government projects. One of the major reasons why many government projects are abandoned without completion is as a result of improper planning on how the projects would be carried out from its incohate stage to the completion stage. For example, a lot of major road projects in Nigeria have been left unattended to and when a reason is provided, it would be that the funds to complete the project have not been disbursed. When the government cooperates with one another, there is a high tendency that issues like this would no longer arise.

Furthermore, cooperation brings about accountability within the government, and accountability to the people. To butress this point, consider that the current state of corruption in Nigeria is majorly as a result of unaccountability. the mere fact that people are working on projects independently, leads to various plots to deceive the people rather than be accountable to them. If people work on a single project together, they would be able to check mate each other, and call themselves to order when there is a tendency to stray from the initial plan. However, I am not completely against competition, as healthy competitions among the government of various states lead to the overall betterment of the society.

In conclusion, cooperation should be the major value to be inbued into the youths to prepare them for leadership, while competition should be a support.