The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet, the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The conclusion by the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company that that the contents of the reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers based on the evidence that fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies in the last year than any other year is one that seems very valid at first, but there are some very key questions that need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation that a greater share of the budget for next year should be allocated to advertising is a reasonable one.

Firstly, the director has prematurely concluded that the drop in attendance was not as a result of the quality of the movies. While he has the evidence that there was an increase in the number of positive reviews when compared to other years, he did not take into consideration the fact that the reviewers were particulary intrigued with some particular things about the movie, while some other parts of the movies were displeasing to the viewers. If the possibility arises that some parts of the movies displeased the attendees, then his argument is greatly flawed. If the director can provide a comprehensive evidence of the contents of the reviews by the movie reviewers, and possibly reviews from the attendees, then we can better evaluate this recommendation.

Also, the conclusion that the drop in the number of attendees was only as a result of poor advertising and that the contents of the reviews are not reaching prospective viewers is not a strong one. The director should answer the question of whether or not the advertising for the previous years and the advertising for the past years were different. If the answer to this question is that they advertised more in other years than they did in the past year, then his recommendation could be valid. However, if ther is any proof that the advertising in the last year eas the same as or greater than the advertising in the other years, then the authors conclusion that the drop in the attendance was as a result of poor advertising.

In conclusion, the director should be able to answer the question that have been asked above and also provide substantial evidence that would further support his argument that if more funds are allocated to advertising, there would be a great increase in the number of attendees in the Super Screen-produced movies.