In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In many countries, it is often the case that people place great value on certain things,while some others do not give any significant consideration to those things. A typical example is the preference some people place on owning their own building when compared to renting one. There are various reasons why people would prefer to own their houses rather than renting one and this could either turn out to be of a merit or disadvantage to them when critically considered.

One of the major reasons why people would rather live in a house of their own rather than a rented apartment is the comfort they derive from this. A lot of people find it highly discomforting to live with other people in the same rented compound because they feel that neighbours can constitute a nuisance to them in many ways from not keeping the surroundings clean, to making unnecessary noise at odd hours. For example, a neighbour can decide to throw a party in their apartment and constitute a nuisance to other people that might be trying to rest at the same time. Another thing to consider in terms of comfort is that most rented apartments are not built to anyone’s specification, therefore the kitchen or toilet might be designed in a way that the resident does not like, and therefore people would prefer to live in their own apartment that they can design and set up in the way that makes them comfortable.

In addition, people prefer to live in their own accommodation as they see it as a means of saving more. One typical evidence to corroborate this assumption is that in many countries, accommodation is usually very expensive, and making an annual payment of a huge sum of money to a house owner is something a lot of people detest. For example, the resident of a house that is valued at $1,000 per year would have made payment of $10,000 at the end of 10 years to the owner of a house which some people find very annoying. Also, living in one’s personal house gives one an opportunity to save a lot more of their monthly earnings instead of setting aside a substantial amount to meet up with the rent for the year. These are major reasons why people prefer to reside in houses that they own rather than those that they rent.

The decision as to whether living in a privately owned apartment rather than a rented one is a positive or mostly dependent on the individual involved, and the situations involved in making this decision. Personally, I am of the opinion that more positivity can be seen in terms of comfort, savings and a better life when people are able to reside in privately owned apartments as they are more comfortable, more organized and have more options on how to live their lives when compared to the restrictions placed on them by landlords or neighbours.