The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The ongoing debate about cooperation and competition , which one having more impact to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry or any other field, is an interesting one. There are valid arguments on both side of the debate , and there is no white and black choice, when it comes to deciding what is correct.

However, instilling a sense of cooperation among young people is very critical, when it comes leadership skills in government, industry or any other field. Cooperation is just the ideology of thinking about the team, before thinking about self or individual, and working as a group for the betterment of the society.

Cooperation is a must have skill, for all working in an organization be it government, IT industry or any other field. Team work, cooperation , working as a group, performing as a unit is a neccessity in achieving long term goals. Leader is only as efficient as the team. Its not the leader who works and gets all the credits , but its the team he/she resembles and the combined coherent efforts is what gives the final outcomes. For say, there is lack of cooperation within a unit, and all have a competitive approach among them. So these people just try to compete with each other and say if the person, Raj is stuck with problem , and ask for help from his colleagues Shan , but just to keep the competitive edge, the Shan does not help Raj. This leads to waste of time and efforts of the team , since Shan had already resolved the problem, after 3 days of efforts, but now Raj again has to go through the same efforts. Had there been a sense of cooperation between them, it would help the team and saved them time and efforts.

Furthermore, competition bring a sense of enimity, and jealousy among the group members. They just try to keep an edge and impress their leads. Competition also bring a negative sense amongst the group. Cooperation is positive as in all think for the team, and they work towards one single goal , rather than having individual goals.

However, little sense of competition might also help for people to better at a skill, and acts as an incentive to perform well , and increase the will for all the member of the group to perform better and excel. Apart from this , there is all negative impact of having competitive mentality among the group and cooperation helps to achieve the vision of the organization.

Ultimately, it would be correct to argue, that cooperation is a must among a members of an organization , and we should instill a sense of cooperation among young people for leadership in all skills.