A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The ongoing debate about having the students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college, is an interesting one. There are valid arguments on both sides, and it is not a black and white choice, in deciding what is correct. However, there should be a system that enforces same national curriculum across the nation atleast until they complete their secondary schooling. A standard national curriculum includes similar syllabus across the subject throughout the nation. And some standard subjects to be to be included in the curriculum.

Having a common standard curriculum has a lot of advantages for the nation. The students who might be changing schools due to relocations of family or other reasons, would find it so much simpler to adapt to the new school. Moreover , children completing their secondary education would have the standard knowledge, and it would also help the college curriculum to start from a standard point. Say if, some students come from North East region of the country , and some student come from South , and they join a common college. Now had the curriculum been different for different regions across the nation, the college would be confused as to from where to start teaching their syllabus and would lead to redundancy for some students.

Another major advantage of having a common curriculum, is everyone will have knowledge about the history, geography, science , maths to the same level. So it won't be the case that, some section of students have knowldege only about early age history and some have knowledge of World War era. So this would lead to lot of discrepancies and would lead to unfair advantages in competitive exam held across the nation. Standard curriculum also looks that each students knows the basics of science and geography , say knows about human anatomy and which nation or river lies in which part of the globe, which is a necessity because it will bring uniformity in the knowledge among the children.

However , every statement has an exception. Some places where some specialization of curriculum would be required is like studying the local dialects and culture , to understand the rich local history and background of the places and the history and geography of the land they reside in.

Ultimately, except the fact that local culture and history may be required as a part of the curriculum, but overall, a common standard curriculum should be observed across the nation, until students entire their college. Since this gives them uniformity in the knowledge they acquire and would be advantageous while developing a college curriculum.