The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is rife with holes and assumptions. For considering the strength of the argument, we need to evaluate the validity of the assumptions its based on, and if proved wrong , what impact it would have on the conclusion of the argument. The primary flaw in the argument is that the giving more time to national news lead to decline in revenue from local business advertisements.

The argument is based on the assumption that there is a connection between cancellation of advertisements by local businesses and the increase time given to national news. It might be the case that lately the news shown has changed its political bias , and it goes against the ideologies of local business people. There might be many other reason due to which they prefer to cancel their contracts. Another possibility is that, in the past few years some other channels have released which are attracting more viewership and the local businesses find it more economical to give them the contract. Had it mentioned this is the only program which gives such news, it might have strengthen the arguement, but the argument lacks such evidences.

Another major assumption in the argument is that , many viewers have complained about the coverage of local and weather news not given suffcient time. But the argument lacks the specifics , as in how many viewers out of the total viewers did actually complaint? And out of these how many were regarding this concern? It might be possible that these customers were never satisfied with the content or it is just a small portion of the viewership, and majority of the viewers like watching national news.

Moreover, another reason to not change the schedule back to the more time for local and weather news is that, what was true in the past might not be true now. The preferances of people might have changed so the old schedule might further decrease the viewership and revenue as the viewers who like national news might also leave. Restoring back to past and getting back the old viewers might not be that easy , as they might have found another program as it replacement and there is no evidence that they might come back to this program once the timings are restored to the former level.

Ultimately, this argument is filled with lot of assumptions and lack of evidences. It is based of lot of assumption, and they are not backed by any evidences. So it would not be possible to conclude that, restoring time devoted to weather and local news to its former level would attract more viewers to the program and increase their revenue, unless all the assumptions are backed by sufficient evidences.