"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo is rife with holes and assumptions. For considering the strength of the argument in the memo, we need to evaluate the validity of the assumptions its based on, and if found invalid, what impact does it have on the conclusion of the argument. The primary assumption the argument is based on is that, the reason why fewer people attended the Super Screen produced movie, is that it lacks public awareness.

Firstly, it is not necessarily true that only reason for the decline in the people attending the movie is lack of public awareness. There might be a situation like pandemic, where people are skeptical about going for movies outside and just prefer to watch web series instead. There might also be the case that the timing when the movie release this year is very wrong. It released in parallel with some multistarrer production , and people chose to watch that movie instead.

Another major assumption this argument is based on is if percentage of positive reviews increased in the past year, means that more people like the quality of the movie. Percentage comparison is only correct , if the number of people reviewing is comparable, but there is no evidence stating the the number of people reviewing is comparable or not. Assuming that say the number of reviewers are comparable , what if the company had hired some agency just to add positive reviews so the skew is maintained. Furthermore, due to this group , the positive reviews are actually increasing. Had there been evidence that the number of reviwers are comparable , then it would have been stronger argument.

Moreover, because the report being based on some assumption, it is not correct to assume that quality of the movies are not hampered. Maybe the quality is hampered, and people are now prefering watching movies from some other production. In such case, allocating greater share of budget to reaching the puclic through advertising, may not actually have an impact on the number of people attending this movie production. The flaw might be lying on the quality itself and it is going unchecked due to some not so fullproof report.

Ultimately, this argument is based on lot of assumption and lack of evidences. Considering all the assumptions to be true, then it would be appropriate to say that public awareness is lacking and causing the decreased viewership. But these assumption are not backed with sufficient evidences, and so we cannot go ahead with the argument , let alone the grand claim at the end. If any of the assumption prove to be invalid, then increasing the budget next year for advertising and creating public awareness won't increase the people attending the Super Screen-produced movies.