The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement mentions that ignoring negative actions and just praising positives ones is the best way to teach. However, I do not agree with the recommendation. The reason is that we learn from unwanted, negative actions that teach people to become a better individual with greater knowledge.

First of all, when we think about our negative doings, it will teach us to become a better person by considering our behavioral mistakes. For example, imagine a couple who never talks about their negative thoughts which may lead to problems one day. So, communication is a key in every relationship. If couples only mention their positive doings, then movements, there may be no corrections in improving their actions. In addition, they may end up having a large argument with each other instead of improving their relationship. For example, a positive praise from a girlfriend can be to kindly tell her boyfriend that she dislikes him coming into the house with his dirty shoes.

Additionally, talking about negative actions may prompt children to learn more. Consider a child who has never been told by her parents that she should not allow her room to be messy. Instead, her parents continue to praise her about her good grades at school. Another example can be a child who always cleans her room because her mother continues to remind her to clean her room. Surely, in the second example the child maybe be a more organized person due to the reminder of negative action.

On the other contrary, it is understandable that some may believe that undesirable actions should go unnoticed to respect that individual. It can be true in specific situations. One example is a mother should not punish her child if he/she breaks a glass accidently, because it can result in a child feeling unwanted or isolated. In this case, it shows cases of the importance of not blaming a child.

In order to improve an individual characteristic, having conversations about negative actions in an appropriate way can be beneficial.