“The best way to teach-whether as an educator, employer, or parent-is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

Encouragement helps a great deal in bringing up any quality. A positive feedback can boost the morale to a great extent. Such a learning, that is backed with positive feedback is effective and faster. However, I disagree that negative actions should be ignored. Along with praising positive actions, it is important to point out negative actions so that they are not repeated.

Teaching involves inculcating good habits and eliminating the bad ones. It involves refining the personality and imparting expert knowledge. If it fails to fulfill anyone of these aspects, it is ineffective. For any child, along with studying their lessons, it is needed to incorporate what they want to learn. A child is in his growing age so this knowledge goes on with their lives. For instance, if a child is performing good in academics and his behaviour is rude. It is not only important to boost him to do well in academics but also to change his behaviour and be friendly.

Similarly, parents have a very important role in bringing up their children. Home is the first school of a child. A child has no knowledge of what is right or wrong. He picks up whatever he sees around him. This may be good or bad. It is the duty of parents to check where their child is going wrong. They should teach him values and morals. While students are under the observation of educators for fixed hours, a child is under constant observation of his parents. Therefore, there is increased responsibility of a parent to observe the actions that are not accepted and correct them. I would like to add here that correcting such an action does not mean that the child is scolded, rebuked or beaten to put him on the right tract. In fact, such behaviour can make the child more stubborn and difficult to handle. Negative criticism need not be done in a harsh manner. It can be done by making the child understand why a certain action is wrong.

The habits as well as knowledge a child picks up in his growing years go a long ways. It goes to his benefit if he inculcates good habits and correct education. However, this does not mean that he can never go wrong. Take an instance, an employer should look after the performance of their employees. There might be cases when he/she can make wrong decisions. Then, it is the responsibility of the employer to look after them and guide them in proper way so that they help in as individuals and for the betterment of the organization.

Recapitulating, the best teaching is where a child is given the knowledge of right and wrong. He should not only be appreciated for the right behaviour but also be told about the places where he goes wrong. This is the essence of teaching.