Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education plays a significant role in the growth of an individual and overall development of a society. Educational institutions are the driving force behind providing quality education and honing the various skills of an individual. Though, to some extent educational institutions can dissuade students from pursing field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed, it is not always recommendable.

I believe that educational institutions are responsible for providing quality education and nurture the growth of an individual and make him a professional in the field of his choice. They have all the knowledge and resources which can help students in the correct path of success and vision. No matter how learned or skilled a person is, they may be poor critiques in finding the true potential of an individual. Take an instance of Michael Jordan, He is one of the most enthusiastic persons one can see on basketball court. One of his coaches bullied him saying he was unfit to play this game and has been terminated from the team. Later, it is a well-known fact that he is one of the mosts loved and greatest player the country has ever produced.

The term "Success" has a plethora of definitions. One say being monetarily rich is success and some other say achieving or pursuing his goal is success. So, the definition of success depends on each individual. In India, due to high poverty level it is said that young people are the sole earners of his or her family. So, they take up courses out their interest for the quest or hunger to earn money to attain financial stability and this can help them become true professionals in that field. So, to dissuade students from their field of study is a judgemental decision on part of educational institutions.

However, there are some instances where putting down the interest of students have benefited to both the organization and individual. Take an example of, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, initially he started his career practicing football and had no interest in playing other sport. Later, one of his coaches noticed his potential of wicket-keeping and trained him in that field which not only helped him to grow as an individual but also brought reputation to the institution.

To sum up, educational institutions should not dissuade students from continuing in the field in which they are not likely to succeed instead provide them various opportunities and platforms that help them to realize their true potential and learn to become better individuals and citizens.