To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A society can be stated as a place where several communities, different group of people grow and live together, exchange their religious beliefs, traditions and ideas that ameliorate their growth. Thought, to some extent a society can be understood through studying its major cities but these are not the places to go with.

Major cities are generally developed, keeping the economics in mind. These are the epicenters for trading, tourism, and entertainment. So, preserving the culture is not on top of its priority list. Moreover, there is altogether a new world in the cities as people from diverse background come and live. This, alters the characteristics of the cities. Consider, University of Berkeley, California, one of the major cities of the United States. It accepts students from across the globe. So, there is a vast variation in the culture. So, to study Californian culture one must ferret for better options elsewhere.

To add on, for example, in Andhra Pradesh there is a whole section of the city where the majority are Muslims and there are separate districts for Hindus and so on. So, there is a change in culture for every 50 kilometers. So, it is clear that, cities are not the best places to represent the characteristics of the society.

The best place would be to choose those places that are immutable to time, industrialization, and circumstances. Only place satisfying this criterion is Village. They reflect the true identity of the society. The veneration people have for their culture is simply unmatched by city people. The temples, museums and monuments are given more importance which are important for deciding the characteristics of the society than a Movie hall or KFC. Moreover, not many people from other areas come and live here as these places will be short of luxuries or conveniences. So, these places are unadulterated with tits and bits of other society.

Recapitulating, cities give information about only few aspects of the society. Thus, to study the most important characteristics of the society we must search for those places that are unhampered by time.