Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given statement approves of a change in power every five years with the reasoning that a new leadership would help revitalise the enterprise which in turn would guarantee success. I disagree with the necessity of change in power expressed in the claim while I partially disagree with the reasoning for the same.

I feel that the important task here is to make sure that the head of any organisation and at any level within the organisation should be someone who is not only technically knowledgable but also pragmatic and is aware of current scenarios as well as recent developments in one’s respective field. This is all that any organisation looks for in any of its members and demands the same from new recruits. Now, in case of someone who has been in power is also armed with valuable experience. Simply bringing new ideas is not any confirmation of growth. More often than not, we see newbies to be very enthusiastic and confident about the capability of their ideas to change the organisation for better. However they are mere presumptive fledglings and often are not aware of the whole picture. This is very experience becomes quite a valuable asset and simply replacing it with a seemingly better leadership can prove to be detrimental in the future.

However, I am not undermining the importance of bringing in new perspective in any institution. It is quite important as it helps make the institution more dynamic in nature. A lot many times, a dying company has been saved not by the experienced leaders but by the new ones simply because of their different perspective thus tackling the problem from a newfound direction. Thus a balance between the new and the experienced is the way to go. So, what I feel is a better alternative is to give the current authority another chance to prove itself by allowing it to be part of the race along with newcomers. One should also take into account how the current leader performed in his/her tenure and then, based upon a complete evaluation of all, choose the most suitable candidate.

Such a procedure obviates the assumption of “new is always better”. It is completely reasonable if someone already in power showcases more mettle and more worthiness for the job. This is what I actually happens even in our elections. Following a five year tenure, the public again gets to evaluate all candidates, including the ones in power.

Therefore, while I believe in revitalisation of any organisation, I also feel strongly about not compromising experience for the same. A more balanced approach of taking both into consideration is the way to go.