Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Art has, for thousands of years, allowed humans to express their ideas, thoughts as well as their creativity. It is a means of expression. The alphabets being used across the world are nothing but art which has been refined into a small set of symbols over the years. Apart from these, pictorial and graphical art have also been practiced as a means of articulation or even for story telling and various other forms of entertainment.

So, as is apparent, I believe that art has been quite an integral part of the very existence of humanity. Any form of expression is meant to convey a message, express one’s thoughts , feelings and emotions and art is just a form of expression. Thus preserving art, I feel, is quite an important task to do as it is a montage of the entire journey how we humans grew and perceived all that there was to explore throughout their existence. Preserving such art forms provides us with an an opportunity to relive those moments vicariously. It further allows us to learn a lot about the past and how we evolved through the years, how our ways of thinking changed and much more.

Preserving such arts not only helps historians to study the evolution of mankind but also serves as an inspiration to a lot many artful people who take pleasure in observing the aesthetic value of such arts. Then there is another lot of people who not only enjoy looking at them and drawing out the intricacies, but actually practice such art themselves using the preserved art as a source of inspiration. They learn how to experiment with different forms of art often blending one with another and even adding their own unique style to it. We even hear about such dexterous artists showcasing their originals at various exhibitions and even selling them at breathtaking prices. Thus the act of preservation actually encourages and inspires people to practice various forms of art themselves which keeps it alive as a means of expression.

A contrary belief is that expenditure such as this, is not contributing to the development of our country and is considered wasteful. I feel that our world should not just be all about developments in economy or technology. We are much more than that. We are humans and not machines born to fulfil the purpose of helping our country develop and then cease to exist. We have emotions, opinions and judgements and it is perfectly fine to express them in whichever form we wish. This interaction and the pleasure we get out of exchanging our thoughts is what makes us human. Therefore, if any form of aid is required to not only remind us of our humanity and what we are capable of but also encourage us to carry it forward, so be it.

Thus, inspite of not contributing to the country’s development, art is worth preserving for it reminds us how we have evolved, how far we have come and take pride in ourselves further encouraging us to keep this means of expression alive.