Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is quite an essential part of one’s life as this is what really helps us to grow and develop as a person. When I talk about growth and development, I mean both on an intellectual as well as moral level. Educational institutions perform a vital role in providing us with the right education.

Being aware of the importance of education in one’s life, I agree with the given statement which claims that educational institutions should hold responsibility for making sure that students take a career path which is right for them.

Today, we are living in a world, in such a time when we see a wide variety of talent around us and every such skill set is being highly appreciated and respected. The advent of social media and video tutorials has further allowed to learn such skills conveniently. Such an environment encourages young minds to do anything that they want to and work upon building the required skill set. However, I feel that having too many options also comes with a drawback. As someone rightly said, having too many options is almost like giving no option at all. Given the enthusiastic and zealous nature of today’s young population, they wish to explore all that they can. But such young minds are mere dilettanti and do not really focus on working hard on developing dexterity in one field.

This is where the importance of educational institutions become apparent. While we get ready and set on our expedition to explore all that there is, educational institutions act as our guide. It is their experience, wider outlook and wisdom which allows them to be capable of guiding such new explorers. From the mere age of three of four we become a part of such an educational institution which not only provides us with the opportunity to explore all such varied fields but also evaluates our dexterity in the field. As we develop, such evaluations tell us where do we really stand. Now this becomes an important responsibility of our institutions to make sure that such evaluations are carried out with utmost efficacy and consistency so that students have a true and honest picture of how well they are at a particular task.

This continuous and comprehensive evaluation further allows the mentors in such institutions to narrow down on what the students are really good at and thus can pursue further. Being wise and experienced in their fields, the mentors can then make fellow students aware of what subjects should they further study and should they be going about it. Such an activity also involves discarding what is not to be done. For example, Ramesh on seeing that his student Swati has proven to be quite skilled in literature but has not been able to showcase descent artistic skills prompts Ramesh to encourage her to pursue literature rather than arts.

This provides fellow students to have a clear vision of what they need to do which further helps to increase their rate of growth now that they know what they are really good. Such a practice also precludes financial wastage which could have otherwise happened had the student mindlessly spent loads of money to learn numerous subjects lacking any clarity.

Nevertheless I do agree that we have come across various cases where people who did not show any excellence in the earlier stages did eventually end up making a successful career for themselves. However, I feel that such cases are exceptional and to base our work plan on miracles is not the best plan.

So I strongly feel that students should start up by working on skills that they want to develop but also acknowledge their weaknesses at the same time. Having done so, having a successful future becomes more probable and once such a stable state is achieved, one can also work on skills that they wished they could on but never really got a chance to do so.