Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Earth has been inhabited by millions of species of organisms in its lifetime. Humans or homo sapiens is just one of them. There was no such law written to give away the monopoly of all of Earth and it’s resources to just one species to be used in whichever way it pleased. The Earth equally belongs to all the organisms that exist and no one species gets to choose the fate of all the others.

It is this simple principle of equity and fairness upon which I base my argument. And in light of such a view, I agree with the given statement which prompts all countries to preserve whatever wilderness remains and in no circumstances, endanger their existence if it costs them their valuable “economic growth”. I feel that this any growth happens over a long period of time but which economic growth’s benefits would we reap if our Earth itself doesn’t exist ? What future do we have if the earth doesn’t have one? And upto what point do we need to keep growing? When do we stop? We need to draw a line somewhere. We cannot simply allow just about anything in the name of “growth and development of our economy”.

We have mindlessly extracted so many minerals that now scientists are panicking about not having any in the near future. The land near the mines are barren now not capable of any forestation. And we did not even bother to do something about it now that we have our minerals to earn money from. Large number of animals are left homeless but we couldn’t care less. Animals themselves are being butchered for whatever we can get out of them ———be it the flesh for eating, skins for medicinal purposes or even for adding aesthetic values to our living rooms———- it’s all justified for us as long as it is providing us with any economical gain.

Now I feel that nature is quite a developed ecosystem in itself. And why not? It has been here for billions of years and we petty humans are imbeciles, having existed for just over 200,000 years! The earth can and will take care of itself. It is us who need to take care of ourselves by taking care of the ecosystem that we are a part of. If we keep abusing what we have, we soon will run out of resources to survive and yes, the earth too will suffer, but only temporarily. It will heal and be again full of life in a few thousands of years. It is us, humans who will perish and go out of existence.

So respecting what we have now and curbing our demands will allow us to be in harmony with Earth. It is still not too late to make a change. We can preserve and even help whatever is left of the wilderness to grow and prosper. Yes, our economy may not grow as fast as we want but it will be alright. Having a balanced life is the way to go.