To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I have lived almost my entire life in the city of Delhi. I have made lots of friends coming from such a myriad of backgrounds and places I had never heard of. Asking them about their reasons for shifting to Delhi, all of them had the exact same answer—-Better jobs for their parents and better schooling for them . And I realised that my story was not any different. This is when it struck me—-Delhi does not have a lot of people of its own———it was an amalgam of people coming from other places just to live a better life here.

Such a realisation makes me feel that our cities are probably not capable on their to tell its people’s stories . Any city is essentially a place where people go to make a living. So how can one’s workspace be an appropriate of one’s individuality? Thus, I disagree with the given statement which entirely credits the cities for being a true representative of the people .

In layman terms, cities are marked by tall buildings, wide and uniform roads, industries, posh marketing spots and malls. So a well developed city is the one which has attained quite high standards such characteristics and is extravagant and spectacular to look at. Well, this is my point. All cities around the world look more or less the same. Same posh malls, same skyscrapers and the same extravagance! This lavish image doesn’t really tell a story, it doesn’t really speak out about its origins, it does not elucidate the world of its glorious history. One has to go the rural areas to attain knowledge about the people. It is the rural areas which tell us who the people of society really are——their beliefs, their morals, their habits, their strengths, their weaknesses, what pleasures them or what troubles them. They are the ones which can help an outsider paint a better picture of who we really are.

One even gets to learn about various art forms be it music, dance, craft work or even an indigenous art which we never get to witness anywhere else in the world. In spite of such art being so unique and spectacular, it does not really get a commensurate representation and anyone who does not visit these rural or even sub urban areas does not really get a chance to have a look at such amazing art forms which actually characterise the real society our people are a part of.

I do not mean to undermine the importance of developed cities in any manner. At the end, it’s our cities which are providing jobless people an opportunity to earn a living. They are the ones which are primarily responsible for the economic and technological advancements, further allowing the country to grow as a whole. What I am actually trying to say is, making cities just about such “developments” will preclude us from providing the world with our true representation. A lot many questions are raised when government wishes to provide various organisations with funds for preserving our history! It is actually quite important to preserve our monuments, our art, our culture and make an effort to not let them die. We need to find ways of blending the city life with what is unique of our society we live in and believe me this fusion will be what would really set us apart from others and show the world who we truly are.