Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The writer of the statement is of the idea that those who are in the power in any field such as politics, education, business, and government ought to step down every five years mainly because this is the only sure measure for any organization to revitalize via new leadership. I believe that the way of changing leaders and managers in all fields not only is possible but also can be detrimental to some enterprises like the business sector because it does not allow the leaders to develop a full understanding of the values and set apart with the staff. However, the author’s claim is true in the matter of innovativeness.

If the leader is doing well in his enterprise, there is no need to change the leader simply because the organization is taking advantage from him/her leadership, and the organization’s goals are well-achieved. For example, if a principal of a school brings good discipline for the school and is successful in academic achievements as well as extra-curriculum performances, they should be allowed to stay in their position due to the fact that students and academic staff benefits from their superb leadership.

A leader will not be successful without the support of his organization. He should provide confidence with his organization and set a rapport with the staff which it takes quite a long time to in the system. Since people cannot just accept readily a new person in the workplace, let alone new buss, it needs at least 10 years for them to build a rapport with his members. Therefore, in a short period of time, it seems quite impractical to achieve a good, mutual relationship.

The author’s viewpoint is quite true in the area of innovativeness and decision making. Vigor and determination might be missing in the leaders after several years in power. Sometimes the hardship of the job various obstacles would undermine a leader's dedication and interests in the same position, or they might think of their decisions as superior to others and they do not need a revision on their action and decision. Hence, in a few cases, we should accept the writer’s point.

In conclusion, the frequent changes in the leadership do not necessarily benefit the organization as if they are leading an enterprise in its best approach, as well as it takes a long time to fully become familiar with staff potentials and build a good relationship with them. However, this change might be essential in the novelty of organizations.