Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

As there is a word “stagnation,” it is often deemed true that any field requires revitalization for success, and consequently that leaders should relinquish their leadership after five years. Although I agree with in part that revitalization is one of the effective measure that can bring success, I do not agree with that it is the surest path to success. Therefore, I do not also believe that the leaders in every field should step down every five years.

Granted, in the fields like politics and government, revitalization through the regime change is often an effective way for the success of nation. For example, in the case of dealing with Donald Trump, the change of the presidency from him to Biden greatly alleviated the global tension existed among Russia and Western countries. Although it is controversial, the pungnacious policy he made against Mexcio and Arabic countries is in general considered to have exacerbated the fracture between Russia and Western country, thereby diminishing the governance of the US and resulting in the Russia-Ukraine war. In addition to this recent example, the regime change in general entails the abolish of problematic old policies, so it is one of the effective way to bring success to a nation.

Regardless of the previous case, however, the frequent change of the leadership is not always the surest path to success. For example, a myriad of historical success could not have been accomplished were it not for the long-term leadership by a single figure. Every kings and emperors with the successful reigneth should be the epitomical example, but take Franklin Roosevelt as an example. The policies he implemented throughout the Great Depression, which played a pivotal role in the US’s overcoming of the depression, was too radical that it is logical to expect that the successors of him would not have followed. Therefore, the case of Roosevelt reveals that in some cases long-term leadership is more effective method for success than revitalization through new leadership.

Moreover, the long-term leadership is often effective in the success of business. Take Elon Musk as an example. As everyone may know, he is one of the richest figures in the entire world, and what is more galvanizing is that his success is entirely enabled by his insight towards the future. Before Tesla Motors, the electric car was deemed daydream, so there was virtually no companies except Tesla which seriously tried to develop it. However, Musk adamantly believed that electric car will be the only option for the future generation owing to its eco-friendliness, let alone the limited amount of petroleum, so he devoted himself into devopling and refining electric cars. Now, as all people might know, Tasla is one of the most influential and the largest electric car company. I believe this reveals the effectiveness the Musk’s long-term leadership, and consequently the possible positive effect of long-term leadership on the success of business.

In conclusion, the revitalization of the leadership is not always the most promising way to success, and therefore not every field should change their leaders every five years. Rather, even in politics, long-term leadership has historically been proven to be effective to success to some extent.