Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Change is the law of nature. Whether it be the changing seasons every few months or the changing cosmos. Change is the only constant in this universe. Every enterprise needs leaders to take it forward may it be a bussiness,politcal or social one. Leaders play a key role in steering the boat that is the enterprise. As is obvious from history a leader who leads a nation or enterprise for far too long inturn becomes the nation or enterprise itself. The romans achived great heights under julius ceaser, but fell visciously as soon as he was gone.

Changing leaders every 5 years or in an short interval is a mordern concept, which has been established by the dreadful experiences of the past. Many Kings and dictators have ruled over their land for far too longs. Curbing the growth of new talent and hence leading to stagnation of thier nation. Mordern democracies have proved that changing a nations leader every five years has proved beneficial in the long term. Many may argue that some leaders like the late Franklin Rosevelt who ruled for four terms did a great job in changing and mordernising USA. But leaders like President Rosevelt are the exception and not the norm.

In todays fast changing world, multiple fields and technologies emerge within a short time. A person who wakes up after ten years may see wide ranging changes around him in this century than a person who woke up after 100 years during the middle ages. Leaders need to constantly learn and unlearn things to cope up with changing enviroments. A term policy will not only provide a chance to others but also help an enterpirse tackle the need of the hour, with new revitalized leadership. Bussiness leader often need to predict in advance the upcoming trends in thier fields. A single person will stagnate after a point in his thinking, and this may lead to lack of growth in the bussiness.

Change is also hard but also necessary. Caution should also be taken in the period of change as changing leadership frequently may end up being disastrous for the enterprise. Hence, a right balance should be maintained while attempting change.