Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Absolutely one of the most interesting feature of the life is the differences between human beings. people have disparate beliefs and sometimes they argue about them and try to convince each other to accept their point of view. although in many cases these arguments can help people to think more deeply about their own beliefs, sometimes it could be misleading. Thus, I can’t completely agree with the statement “the best test of an argument is it’s ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint”.

In my opinion the best test of argument is its ability to increase knowledge of people. In my career as a genetics student, argument is a really necessary part. sometimes my classmates and I gather to speak about different topics of Biology and genetics and it helps us to be up to date. For instance years ago I didn’t believe in evolution but one of my friends talk to me about it and give me a lot of convincing reasons and examples and persuade me that I was wrong.

Nobody can deny that convincing is one of the most properties of an argument but we should consider that when an argument is convincing it doesn’t mean that it is true. sometimes a convincing but wrong argument can mislead people and make them to believe something that is not true. This usually happens in religious or political arguments which people try to impose their point of view on the others. For example, once my cousin tried to convince me that women should have been forced to put scarf and hide their hair in the society. He told me if we forced women to put scarf it makes families stronger and prevent the society from corruption and rape. although his reasons was plausible but the idea was certainly wrong.

In conclusion, though an argument should have been convincing, it is more important that helps people to learn new things and think more deeply about their beliefs.