Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

Undoubtedly, laws were made for making the society a safer place to live for human beings and obeying them usually prevents the society from being disturbed. however, it is really important that people who make the laws of a country should be impartial and just consider the benefits of all people not themselves or the government. In some cases it’s not simple to predict the consequences of obeying just laws or disobeying unjust laws. So I cannot completely agree with the claim.

Firstly, we should consider the exact definition of just laws. just laws are laws that are considered true by society. In democratic countries these kinds of laws are compatible with human rights and in these situation it’s our duty to obey these laws. but we should notice that the consideration of a law as true doesn’t mean that it’s really true. For example In some countries government using religious to manipulate most people of a country to believe something wrong as a just law and convince them to obeying it.

Secondly, making the right decision between obeying or disobeying unjust laws is more challenging. In democratic countries there are legal way to protest to these laws. for example in the past abortion was illegal but after a lot of efforts by women right defender it becomes legal. In this situation the best thing is obeying the unjust laws to prevent the society from chaos but we should do our best to nullify these laws. however in dictatorial countries the condition is different. In most cases the government doesn’t care about people’s protestation and there isn’t any legal way to abrogate unjust laws. For example in Iran women have to put scarf and hide their hair from other people in the society and if anybody dissent this law consider as an impious or even criminal. In my opinion in these circumstances obeying unjust laws reinforced them and people should fight with these laws by disobeying them but in a peaceful way.

In Conclusion, it’s not always easy to distinguish between just laws and unjust laws and the most important thing is that every person in the society should try to reinforce the just laws and invalidate the unjust laws. but we should also consider that the way of face these laws is depend on the government’s policy.