Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures

dr. karp concludes that the interview –centered method that have used by his team in tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other islands; however this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is because it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another. Therefore, in order to fully evaluate the argument , we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence.

A problem with the argument is that the author assumes that things remain the same over the years. however in most cases this is not true. The results of dr. field’s study were achieved twenty years earlier than dr. karp’s results. one important thing that we should consider is that twenty years is a very long period of time which can cause many significant changes in the life style of people in the tertia island. For example maybe the biological parents figured out that their children would learn a lot of unacceptable behaviors and would do some immoral activities when they nurtured by entire village, thus they decided to rear their children by themselves. In this case, perhaps both studies of dr. karp and dr. Field have been corrected at the time they had been conducted and the method of study have not changed anything which means dr. karp’s conclusion that dr. field’s method of study is ineffective would be seriously weakened.

another piece of evidence that might help us to check this argument involves the exact locations where the study of dr. karp conducted. In the argument dr. karp claims that he have had interview with children living in a group of island not only tertia. it is possible that none of the children have not been from tertia island which means the study have taken place in another location in comparison with dr. field’s study. In this case we can conclude maybe children in tertia island are reared by entire village, while children in other islands are nurtured by their biological parents.

The last piece of evidence that we would need in order to fully evaluate this article is that although the methodology of both dr. karp and dr. field’s study has been determined, there is no hint about the sample size of the research. we do not know how many child have been involved in the study by dr . karp’s team. one possibility is that dr. karp have has interview with just 10 childs, while there have been about 2000 children in the tertia island. we cannot generalize the results to all of the children in the island.

In the final analysis, dr. karp’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it lacks of enough evidence and depends on a number of evidence each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed and also a number of strong evidence is added.