Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

A role model chosen by a society is someone who represents the people over there, every time and everywhere. Every group has a representative among them, from village headman to the president of a nation. A huge population of the people under a leader looks up to him or her with a pride.

However, I strongly disagree with the claim made by the author that “ the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models”, as I believe, author in his statement is clearly generalizing the people under that particular leader. As previously mentioned, “a huge population” but not all among them agree to the claim made, since it is not necessary for everyone to follow a single path. This is clearly seen in an election, some population vote for a group, some may vote for another, though the majority wins, still the minority here are implicitly forced to follow the chosen ones.

Moreover, a society amalgamates different kinds of people with variegated personalities, opinions and beliefs. Generalizing them with the role model selected by them leads to a restrictive thought. Limitation to the expression of the people making them laconic to every predicament is the result. What if the person today considered to be the role model be the headlines of the next day news reports? What if they are involved in any scandal? Should we start looking at the followers in a weird manner? So, how good or bad a society or the people over there can never be determined by the behaviour of a hero.

Misinterpretations can always restrict a person from interacting with another. Such repercussions are avoidable. Rather being introvert and misjudging people for every conundrum, dogging to your own personality and not being influenced by others is something that I would suggest everyone. In a school, a principle is a respected personal, in a family, father is a respected personal and is someone whom as a child we look up to but, at times you start inchoate your own beliefs and perspectives which could be contradictory to what your ideals believe. Most of the outsiders think that people around a family have same views. But when cogitates, we find different personalities with a same surrounding. For instance, the sixteen-year-old Greta Thunberg, the environmental activist was not supported by the Swedish people and her friends when she was sitting in front of the Swedish parliament protesting against the extreme climate change and to preserve the environment. We can clearly infer that people were not serious about this condition and what it could cause. Greta remained entrenched to her decision and gained publicity for the rising issue. Inferring that the Sweden people is most concerned about the environment from the eager shown by the little girl is a generalization.

Admittedly, following your ideals do not make you a bad person but interpreting that your character is reflected on the ideal you follow is something completely absurd.