Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.
Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
As humans, we observe some people in our lives that we admire and sometimes
start to follow. These ideals need not be always based on a certain criteria. A
person might admire one person because of the music he/she makes and other because
of his/her courage. Moreover, different people have different role models in their
lives. To say that the character of the men and women that a society admires is a
depiction of the character of the society's people is an overstatement.
During our lives, we come across various people. We know some of them personally
while others are just an image created in our minds by either literature or media.
Someone's character is not something that is obvious from the surface. Hence, we do
not make role models or heroes on the basis of character alone. There are many
musicians, artists, scientists and soldiers whose personal lives were not known to
many but because of their achievements, they are considered a role model by their
society. In this case, the character of the said hero is not something that is even
considered. There is a fair chance that a hero or role model of a society is not very
good in his personal affairs and does not show good character there. Although it can
be argued that if those people are not good in character, this depicts that the
society admires such people. However, it is not always the case.
Consider an example of a soldier who fought valiantly in a battle and died. He is
regarded highly by the government and is declared a national hero. The whole society
admires him. But there is a twist here. During his life, the soldier was not good
at his home. He abused his family and did not take care of them. Moreover, he was
not good to his friends and relatives. He did some unethical things that nobody
knows of. Now, were these things considered by the people when they had chosen him
as a hero? Would they still admire him the same if they got to know these things
about him? No. The character of a person is not known to many when they choose the
person as his/her hero.
Moreover, sometimes people do not care how a person acts in his personal life as
long as they are good in the thing they are known for. If a cricketer performs good
in field, nobody cares how good he is to the people in his circle and his personal
matters.
It is true that if a person is seriously ill in his dealings and life
and it is publicly known to the people and he is still considered a role model,
the society's mindset is to be criticized. But most of the times, it is not the
case and people choose role models differently in different domains and a good
character is not always a criteria. Thus, a society cannot be considered same in
character as the people it idolizes.