Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and
women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.
Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the
reason on which that claim is based.
The term hero and role models, as it has physical emobodiment, also has numinous elements attached to it. As the author claims
that only by scrutinizing or analyzing the top tier people of a society who are revered by it's people, we can evaluate
the whole society. Agreeing to this claim with couple of reasons.
At first, we should go back in time to the dawn of formal academic knowledge at Greece-Mesopotemia. This is time period of B.C.,
when free spirited knowledge had started to evolve into complex insights in all spheres of life, the world and the universe.
The likes of Plato, Socretes, Pythagoras walked on this very earth, and these people were idolatarous/ deferenced by the
general people. From figuring out: how to measure a field ? The trigonometry was invented. They even developed a solar-sytem
model called heliocentric model( though not accurate because Earth was in the middle, as other planets and Sun revolved around Earth), still
a quintessential astronomical model at that time when no high ranged telescopes were yet to be invented. These people were not only at that time ,but the best
intellectuals of all time. Such people were the role models or heros at that time. Therefore, we can convincingly say that those Greek societies can be analyzed
by evaluating this such pundits.
After this quixotic example, we can devolve into a lesser one, Adolf Hitler was a political leader, not a tyrant. He came to the power of his nation through
votes, he did not seize any power from the people. Hence, we can contend that he was favored by most of his people, giving him role model/ hero status.
It is very general knowledge what he did to the whole world, not to mention partical to jew or minority people of his own country. Even the term evil is
a praise to him, as he is the talisman of a sinister,egotist, and a racist human-being ever to walk on Earth. He not only killed a whole lot of people, he single
handedly abolished couple of nations. So, his actions can be partially attributed to the people that led him to power.
Lastly, we can look into depth of a country which is called the happiest country of the whole world named "Bhutan". It is one of three countries which are
carbon-negative meaning they emit less carbon-dioxide that oxygen, whereas every other country is not only carbon postive, but they emit significant amount of carbon-dioxide
that is invasive to the environment. And it has seventy percents of forests to habitats, which contributes massively into keeping the environment green and clean.
Most of the policies are from the line of kings of Bhutan who maintains this strict policy of keeping the environment safe and it's people in happier facilities through not
industrilization but with jobs that are environment friendly. And the people of bhutan respect these policy makers and authoraritative figures.
In conclusion, we can see that role models or heros play a vital role in every society.