Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

What are the most important characteristics of a society? Certainly, culture, social and religious beliefs and practices, economy, history, arts, academics, etc. are the most essential tenets that unify any society. The author contends that the best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models for they reveal a society's highest ideals. While some of the important ideals of a society can be understood by the characters of popular heroes taking a cause, it is imperative to study the above diverse societal element to understand a society in its entirety.

Verily, the author’s claim and reasoning holds valid for heroes and role models who command mass following and champion for a cause. Such leaders cannot emerge and gain success without endorsement and contribution from the society. Therefore, examining them would reflect the ideals and character of the society regarding the cause they persevere for. For example, Gandhi’s struggle for India’s freedom reflects the will of Indian society about self-determination, whereas King’s movement mirrors the resoluteness of Afro-American society for civil rights. Even the popular support for despots like Hitler reveals about the endorsement of anti-semitism and Aryan supremacy from the German society.

However, beyond this concession both the author’s claim and reason fall apart. Foremost, the choice of hero is not uniform within a society and is contingent upon the living environment and circumstances of the people. For instance, a child born into a poor family with trying circumstances may idolize a philanthropist, while a girl born into an affluent family may see a virtuoso as her hero. Moreover, not all role models reflect the highest ideals or morality of the society; in fact, the lives of many are tainted with scandals and misdemeanors. While Tiger Woods was adored as a role model, the revelation about his pervert sexual life led to his falling from the grace. Even King, notorious for his licentious nature, doesn’t represent the sexual ethics of the religious Afro-American community.

Moreover, people often choose heroes because of the reverence of their sills, struggles, and virtues; and not because they reflect societal characteristics. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo is a national hero in Portugal for his exploits as a footballer, initial struggle from poverty and philanthropic work. Does examining Cristiano reveal that the Portuguese society, at large, has such attributes and struggles? Consider another example in Marie Curie’s hero-ship for her excellence in Science that no woman, or even man, has ever been able to parallel. Does she epitomize the scientific temper of the whole polish society? These choices simply mean that society admires the skills and attributes of those individuals that they believe should be emulated - but for their own shortcomings.

Lastly, a society is a multidimensional entity bearing myriad characteristics whether cultural, social, religious, economic, historic, aesthetic, academic, etc. Understanding the character of a society entails a holistic examination of these aspects rather merely studying its heroes or role models. While a look into society’s traditional practices, festivals, cuisine, costumes, beliefs, etc. gives insight into its social, cultural, and religious aspects, examining the occupation, wealth distribution, and income throws light on the economic characteristics. Similarly, observing the art and architecture reveals about the history and aesthetic appreciation of the society, whereas understanding literature, education, and politics gives an idea about its academic and intellectual maturity. Certainly, a society is much more than what its heroes and role models reflect.

In conclusion, heroes and role models enjoying mass popularity and championing a cause do mirror the characteristics of the society in relation to that cause. However, apart from such examples, neither the choice of role model is universal within a society nor all heroes reflect the highest ideals. Moreover, a society chooses heroes not because they reflect its values but due to its admiration for their attributes and achievements. Finally, understanding a society invokes a holistic examination of its different aspects instead of studying simply the biographies of its heroes.